defence connect logo



Australia to deliver military equipment to Ukraine

Australia to deliver military equipment to Ukraine

The Commonwealth government has confirmed plans to provide both lethal and non-lethal aid to Ukraine in support of its defence against Russian aggressors.

The Commonwealth government has confirmed plans to provide both lethal and non-lethal aid to Ukraine in support of its defence against Russian aggressors.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison, Treasurer Josh Frydenberg, Minister for Foreign Affairs Marise Payne, and Minister for Defence Peter Dutton have released a joint statement confirming plans to deliver military aid to Ukraine in support of its resistance against Russia’s invasion. 

The Commonwealth government has committed to working with NATO and other international partners to provide lethal and non-lethal military equipment, medical supplies, and financial assistance.


This is expected to include $70 million for supply of missiles and ammunition, as well as a US$3 million (AU$4.1 million) contribution to NATO’s Trust Fund for Ukraine.

Details regarding the nature and quantity of Australias arms contribution have not been disclosed, with the Commonwealth government working with the international community to coordinate the delivery. 

Further, the Commonwealth has imposed sanctions on Russia to hold President Vladimir Putin and his government to account for the invasion.

Targeted financial sanctions and travel bans have been imposed on President Putin, Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, Defence Minister Sergey Shoigu, Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin and Internal Affairs Minister Vladimir Kolokoltsev.

“President Putin, Foreign Minister Lavrov and Defence Minister Shoigu are directly responsible for Russia’s unprovoked and unlawful further invasion of Ukraine,” the joint statement read.

“It is exceedingly rare to designate a head of state, and reflects the depth of our concerns.”

These latest sanctions are in addition to restrictions imposed on more than 350 Russian individuals, MPs and military commanders supporting the invasion.

Sanctions have also been introduced against 13 Belarusian individuals and entities, including Belarusian Minister of Defence Viktor Khrenin, accused of aiding and abetting the invasion by allowing Russia to launch attacks from Belarus.

These measures come just days after the Commonwealth government backed the European Commission, France, Germany, Italy, the United Kingdom, Canada, and the United States on further restrictive economic measures against key Russian banks, institutions and individuals.

These measures include:

  • Removal of selected Russian banks from the SWIFT global payments messaging system.
  • Restrictive measures to prevent the Russian Central Bank from using its international reserves in a way that undermines sanctions.
  • Limiting so-called golden passports for wealthy Russians connected to the Russian government.
  • A trans-Atlantic task force to identify and freeze the assets of sanctioned individuals and companies that exist within their jurisdictions.

“Together, these measures will impose severe costs on the Russian economy by disconnecting its key banks from the international financial system and disrupting Russian trade and investment flows,” the joint statement noted.

“They will also paralyse Russia’s foreign reserves and prevent Russian officials and elites from accessing key financial systems. While we expect that the SWIFT measures as announced will be implemented at a global level, we will take complementary steps as required.

"The Australian government reiterates our staunch support for Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity and for the people of Ukraine.”

[Related: World leaders respond to Russian attack on Ukraine]

You need to be a member to post comments. Become a member for free today!